Guitar Scale Modes

Understanding guitar scales and methods is crucial should you wish to advance your guitar abilities. Learning the 7 methods of the main scale, the basis of Western music, and becoming comfortable with all the different scale patterns usually allow you to create up your riffs and solos across the whole fretboard, that is what separates a novice from an advanced player. Understanding scales usually moreover create learning chord much simpler, thus don’t hesitate.

The most crucial step you are able to take in understanding scales is understanding the main scale as well as its note intervals. Why? Because the 7 methods all begin off of the provided note of the authentic main scale, which makes recalling their note patterns much simpler.

First of all, we have to define what a scale really is. A scale is a series of notes with predefined intervals, starting of the root note, and ending found on the same note 1 octave high. As you recognize, music has the ability to impact our thoughts and mood. The interval pattern of scales might define its mood and design, ranging from happy and upbeat (Ionian mode), to sad (Aeolian mode), to sinister (Locrian mode).

Now that we understand what scales are, lets take a look at the 7 guitar methods that are many utilized in Western music. Note: “W” signifies 2 semitones, “H” signifies 1 semitone between each scale note.

Ionian Mode (the Major Scale itself)

Note intervals: W-W-H-W-W-W-H
Mood: Happy
Musical styles: nation, jazz, rock

Dorian Mode (origins found on the 2nd note of the main scale)

Note intervals: W-H-W-W-W-H-W
Mood: Jazzy
Musical styles: rock, nation, jazz

Phrygian Mode (origins found on the 3rd note of the m.


Note intervals: H-W-W-W-H-W-W
Mood: Spanish
Musical styles: flamenco, Spanish guitar

Lydian Mode (origins found on the 4th note of the m. scale)

Note intervals: W-W-W-H-W-W-H
Mood: mesmerizing, dreamy
Musical styles: jazz, nation, rock

Mixolydian Mode (origins found on the fifth note of the m. scale)

Note intervals: W-W-H-W-W-H-W
Mood: Blues
Musical styles: blues, rockabilly, country

Aeolian Mode (sometimes known as the minor scale, it roots found on the sixth note of the m. scale)

Note intervals: W-H-W-W-H-W-W
Mood: sad
Musical styles: pop, blues, metal, rock, country

Locrian Mode (origins found on the next note of the m. scale)

Note intervals: H-W-W-H-W-W-W
Mood: sinister, horrifying
Musical styles: jazz, fusion

Modal theory is very easy, when you know the relationship between your different scale methods. Once you learn the scale patterns as well as the notes found on the fretboard, you’ll be capable to play solos and create up your riffs all over the throat of the guitar, which feels ideal and usually certainly impress others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge